Home‎ > ‎Untitled‎ > ‎

KVAC honors Lions, Mariners, Panthers, Mustangs, Windjammers

posted Mar 12, 2020, 6:42 AM by Christine Guerette
By Staff | Mar 09, 2020

AUGUSTA — The Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference has unveiled its all-conference and all-academic selections, which include dozens of Midcoast student-athletes who excelled in the pool and on the floor, court, track, mats and ice.

A large number of Midcoast high school student-athletes — and four area coaches — from Medomak Valley of Waldoboro, Oceanside of Rockland, Belfast, Camden Hills of Rockport and Mount View of Thorndike have been recognized.

Missing are those honored for Alpine and Nordic skiing, information from which will be available at a later date.

The names and status of the following honorees, which includes first and second team, and all-academic, come directly from the league.

The honored Midcoast student-athletes, broken down by winter sport, include:

Class B boys indoor track

First team — Belfast’s Jon Duso, Cole Martin and Nick Ritchie; and Medomak Valley’s Connor Daigle.

Male athlete of the meet — Belfast’s Cole Martin.

All-academic — Belfast’s Brandon Cournoyer.

Class B girls indoor track

First team — Belfast’s Lia Frazee and Junne Robertson-McIntire; and Medomak Valley’s Serena Blasius, Mackenzie Emerson, Olivia Parent and Alexis Parent.

All-academic — Belfast’s Ellie Prespolis, Katie Ritchie, Junne Robertson-McIntire and Mallory Tibbetts; and Medomak Valley’s Serena Blasius.

Class B boys swimming

First team — Belfast’s Fletcher Marriner and Gary Moline; and Camden Hills’ Angus Carter, Oliver Worner, Tor Denny and Trevor Taylor.

Second team — Belfast’s Brigham Graf; and Camden Hills’ Cabot Adams.

KVAC diver of the year — Belfast’s Gary Moline.

KVAC coach of the year — Belfast’s Bob Winslow.

All-academic — Belfast’s Fletcher Marriner and Gary Moline.

Class B girls swimming

First team — Belfast’s Kayla Payson and Reagan Seekins; and Camden Hills’ Katherine O’Brien, Phoebe Root, Sadie Woodruff and Sarah Van Lonkhuyzen.

Second team — Belfast’s Kerrigan Smith, Madeline Coates and Sadie Wheeler; and Camden Hills’ Isabella Tassoni and Josie Lincoln.

All-academic — Belfast’s Olivia Matthews, Kayla Payson and Kerrigan Smith; Camden Hills’ Ella Pierce, Isabella Tassoni, Farin Weidman and Kasey Wood; and Mount View’s Maeve Noble-Lowe.

Class A/B wrestling

First team — Camden Hills’ Julian Henderson, Ian Henderson and Eric Andrews; Mount View’s Mark Ward; Medomak Valley’s Erik Benner; and Belfast’s Brian White.

Second team — Belfast’s Connor Fournier and Cameron Watts; Oceanside’s Carter Fogarty; and Camden Hills Devin Hutcheson.

Most outstanding wrestler (Class B) — Mount View’s Mark Ward.

Coach of the year (Class B) — Mount View’s Hamilton Richards.

All-academic — Belfast’s Elijah Charbonnier, Brooke Richards, Junne Robertson-McIntire and Timmy Smith; Camden Hills’ Nina Fantini, Ian Henderson, Devin Hutcheson, Kristina Kelly and Joshua Saucier; Medomak Valley’s Colby Verrill-Hyde; and Oceanside’s Carter Fogarty and Bennett Penney.

Class B cheering

First team — Belfast’s Emily Wakeman; Medomak Valley’s Greg Cifaldo and Katrina McIntosh; Mount View’s Kelsey Doughty; and Oceanside’s Molly Vitale.

Second team — Medomak Valley’s Katie Ryan; Belfast’s Sierra Davis; Mount View’s Lexi Cluney; and Oceanside’s Kelsie Morin.

All-academic — Medomak Valley’s Cheyanne Greene and Katie Ryan; and Oceanside’s Paige Nystrom.

Class A boys basketball

First team — Camden Hills’ Jeremy Fraser; and Medomak Valley’s Patrick McKenney.

Second team — Medomak Valley’s Trevor Brown.

All-academic — Camden Hills’ Joshua Pearse; and Medomak Valley’s Carson Murphy, Michael Simmons and Paige Powell.

Class B boys basketball

First team — Belfast’s Jason Bartlett and Chris Kelley.

Second team — Mount View’s Draedyn Furrow.

Coach of the year — Belfast’s Marty Messer.

All-academic — Belfast’s Marco Melotti; and Oceanside’s Karl Ilvonen.

Class A girls basketball

First team — Medomak Valley’s Sadie Cohen.

All-academic — Camden Hills’ Audrey Bowman, Kaylyn Krul and Grace O’Connell; and Medomak Valley’s Sadie Cohen and Kayla Donlin.

Class B girls basketball

First team — Oceanside’s Audrey Mackie; and Mount View’s Hannah Coolen.

Second team — Oceanside’s Grace Woodman.

Coach of the year — Oceanside’s Matt Breen.

All-academic — Belfast’s Lindsey Cross, Kayci Faulkingham, Grace Fitzjurls and Sydni Moores; and Oceanside’s Molly Gould.

Class B boys ice hockey

Second team — Camden Hills’ Levi Guay and Andrew Orne.

All-academic — Camden Hills’ Quinn Brown, Christopher Burns, Andrew Orne, Nicholas Tausek and Benjamin Wells.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at sports@villagesoup.com or by phone at 594-4401.